Chief Minister Assam Office Address, Phone Number, Email ID, Website

The Chief Minister of Assam is the head and chief executive of the northeast Indian state and Government of Assam. He is the head of the council of ministers of Assam. He is appointed by the governor of Assam. The party or coalition group which secures majority votes after the general election are held in the Assam Legislative Assembly elects its leader and forwards his name to the Governor. All the possible contact details of Chief Minister like office address, office number, email id, fax number are shared below.

The Governor then appoints elected member as the Chief Minister of Assam. The general term for which the chief minister of Assam can hold an office is 5 years. He can be removed when a vote of no-confidence is cast against him by the Assam Legislative Assembly. In such a case, a vote of no-confidence is also cast against the entire Council of Ministers and it has to resign along with the chief minister for whom it was working.

The chief minister of Assam occupies the highest position in a state and thus exercises many powers, and functions like selection and appointment of the Council of Ministers of his choice and removes or dismisses the ministers or shifts the portfolios among the ministers. He is the chairman of the Council of Ministers.

He presides over the meetings of the Cabinet and decides the timings of the meetings. He is responsible for coordinating the work of all the departments of the government. He is the leader of the Legislative Assembly. Governor can make all the major appointments and promotions only with the consent and advice of the Chief Minister.

Sponsored Links

He makes all important announcements of his government. He has the right to advise the Governor of Assam to dissolve the Assam Legislative Assembly, in case he finds that the government cannot be carried on in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution or in case he is likely to lose the majority.

Total 14 chief ministers have served the state of Assam since 1946. Gopinath Bordoloi who belonged to the Indian National Congress was the first Chief Minister of Assam. Anwara Taimur became India’s first female Muslim chief minister. Tarun Gogoi who belonged to the Indian National Congress became the longest-serving office holder who served Assam for 15 years. Sarbananda Sonowal took his oath on May 24, 2016, as chief minister of Assam and he belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Chief Minister Assam Office Contact Details

The Office contact details of the CM of Assam is shared below and can be used for contacting him.

Chief Minister of Assam Office AddressGovernment of Assam, Block- C, 3rd Floor, Assam Sachivalaya, Dispur- 781006, Guwahati

Chief Minister of Assam Office Phone Number:  91-361-2262222, 2266188

Chief Minister of Assam Office Email ID:

Chief Minister of Assam Office Fax Number: +91-361-2262069

Sponsored Links

Chief Minister of Assam Official Website:

{ 10 comments… add one }
  • bhabarnab saikia November 21, 2017, 11:40 am

    ??? … ?? ???????? ?????? ???????????? ????????? ???? ??? ???? ??? ????? ?’? ? DLC ??? ???? ???? ? ????? ?’?? SLC ????? ?? ???? ?? ???? ? ?????????? ?? ?? ????? ????? ? ??????? ?????? ???? ???????? ???????? ???? ? ????? ???? ??? ?????? ??????? ???? ,??????? ?? ??? ????? ??? ??? ?